Only 93 Countries of the Human Rights Council’s 193-member General Assembly Voted to Suspend Russia

21 Jun 2022
By Ambassador Mark Green

Among those who abstained were nations who attended last year’s Summit for Democracy in Washington, most notably India, which imports much of its defense technology from Russia, and has declined to enforce sanctions. Indonesia, Brazil, and South Africa were also among the abstentions. So was Mexico, whose president criticized the UN before the vote, saying the organization should have acted as an intermediary rather than exclude Russia.

Read more at Wilson Center

June 22, 2022|News|